Shredded Beef Salad with Avocado and Chile Chipotle

Salpicon de Res PoblanoI’m past the tortilla making section of the Authentic Mexican cookbook and am now getting into the meat of the cookbook. This section is appetizers and salads (entremeses y ensaladas). It’s a relatively short section of only 8 recipes so will probably only do one recipe from this section for this project. It didn’t take me long to decide on which recipe to try. Beef, avocado and chipotle sounded like a winner to me. In Spanish, this recipe is called Salpicón de Res Poblano.

This was one recipe I wish had a picture to go along with it so I knew how the presentation is supposed to look. I’m not sure I did it quite right. Some of the ingredients were a little difficult to find and had to improvise. Crap, just as I am typing this I just realized I forgot one of the ingredients. I got feta as a substitute for queso fresco which I couldn’t find but forgot to even put it on the salad. Luckily I still have a bit left over so I’ll have to try it on some leftovers. the recipe also called for canned chipotles and all I could find were canned chipotles in adobo sauce.

The beef was cooked with some vegetables and herbs. The recipe said to discard the liquid the beef was cooked in and I gasped. I wouldn’t think of throwing away that beautiful broth so I put it in the freezer to use later with soup or something. I garnished the plates with lime wedges for squeezing over the salad which I thought was a nice addition that wasn’t in the recipe.

Even though I’m not sure I plated it quite right and forgot the cheese, it was still tasty and I’m glad I made a little extra so I have leftovers for tonight!

Boiling Beef Brisket Shredded Beef
Baby Potatoes
Shredded Beef Salad with Avocado and Chile Chipotle

Leave a comment